Home Research Help Guides Primo Library Search Databases Interlibrary Loan Contact a Librarian

LGBTQ+ Health


Deprecated: Function get_magic_quotes_gpc() is deprecated in /home/ocomedu/library.ocom.edu/guides/control/includes/functions.php on line 491

About this Guide
This guide is meant to provide students and local practitioners with resources to educate themselves about working with and caring for individuals on the LGBTQ spectrum.

If you are just getting started with educating yourself about the LGBTQ+ community and LGBTQ+ specific rights and issues, please visit our LGBTQ Overview Guide.
Primers for Medical Practitioners
These briefs from the Fenway Institute's National LGBTQIA+ Health Education Center will aid in clinical care of LGBTQ patients. The National LGBTQIA+ Health Education Center offers free Learning Modules, Publications, Videos, and Webinars after you create a login.
Other Resources
Multnomah County Library has an excellent collection of electronic resources, including databases, ebooks, and reference resources. These resources are free to all library patrons, so visit your local branch to get set up with a library account.
Suggest a Resource
Is there a resource you'd like to see added to the guide? Send us an email using our contact form!
Books & Articles
A clinician's guide to gender-affirming care : working with transgender and gender-nonconforming clients
Transgender and gender nonconforming (TNGC) clients have complex mental health concerns, and are more likely than ever to seek out treatment. This comprehensive resource outlines the latest research and recommendations to provide you with the requisite knowledge, skills, and awareness to treat TNGC clients with competent and affirming care.
 
The Fenway guide to lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender health
The Fenway Guide provides guidance, practical guidelines, and discussions of clinical issues pertinent to the LGBT patient and community. It also focuses on helping healthcare professionals gain a better understanding of the LGBT population, the LGBT life continuum, health promotion and disease prevention, transgender health, and patient communication and the office environment, The Fenway Guide is truly a one-of-a kind comprehensive resource!The healthcare issues surrounding sexual minorities is an area in which little research and few studies have been conducted. Written in conjunction with the world renowned Fenway Community Clinic, The Fenway Guide to Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, and Transgender Health is an invaluable resource for healthcare professionals seeking further knowledge and guidance on sexual minority healthcare.
The health of sexual minorities : public health perspectives on lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender populations
This is the first concise handbook on Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Transgender (LGBT) health in the past few years. It breaks the myths, breaks the silence, and breaks new ground on this subject. This resource offers a multidimensional picture of LGBT health across clinical and social disciplines to give readers a full and nuanced understanding of these diverse populations. It contains real-world matters of definition and self-definition, meticulous analyses of stressor and health outcomes, a extensive coverage of research methodology concerns, and critical insights into the sociopolitical context of LGBT individuals’ health and lives.
The Remedy: queer and trans voices on health and health care
“This anthology on health care for queer and transgender people is as much an archive of experience as it is a call to action...It's a must-read for health care professionals and students going into the field, those navigating the system or supporting others through it, and anyone interested in honest, informed writing on the subject.” --Publishers Weekly
 
Health care disparities and the LGBT population
This edited volume fills an important gap in health communication, exploring the significant disparities in access to health care and health coverage that LGBT individuals and their families face. With cutting-edge empirical research, the essays examine the social and structural factors that lead to the stigma and discrimination that LGBT populations experience.
 
List of White Papers, from the National LGBT Health Education Center.
Trans 101 by Emery Olson
This two part presentation is available for OCOM students, staff and faculty only. Please contact a librarian if you need the password.

Trans 101 - Be Informed - by Emery Olson (2021) Part One
Be Informed: Terminology, pronouns, transition and more! One power hour will cover the basics of what it means to be transgender and what you can do to be a better ally.


Trans 101 - Treating Transgender Patients - by Emery Olson (2021) Part Two
Treating Transgender Patients: Learn medical terminology in relation to transgender bodies, and how to phrase questions. Discover what is okay to ask when and how to make your trans patients feel safe.
LGBTQIA+ Health Education Center Webinars
The National LGBTQIA+ Health Education Center (A program of the Fenway Institute) makes webinar recordings available for free; you'll need to sign up for an account in order to view the webinar materials.
Trauma-Informed Care (CME CREDIT AVAILABLE): 
In this talk from the 2021 Advancing Excellence in Transgender Health conference, Dr. Potter and Samara Grossman discuss components of trauma-informed care for transgender and gender-diverse clients.
Addressing Unconcious and Implicit Bias (CME CREDIT AVAILABLE): 
In this talk from the 2021 Advancing Excellence in Transgender Health conference, Cei Lambert focuses particularly on provider bias and power dynamics and how bias shows up for transgender and gender-diverse clients.
Gender-Affirmative Health Care (CME CREDIT AVAILABLE):
In this talk from the 2021 Advancing Excellence in Transgender Health conference, Dr. Reisner provides an overview on gender-affirmative health care, including terminology, demographics and epidemiology.
Reproductive Care and Obstetrics for Transgender and Gender-diverse People (CME CREDIT AVAILABLE):
In this talk from the 2021 Advancing Excellence in Transgender Health conference, Drs. Viloria and Grimstad highlight reproductive care and obstetrics for transgender and gender-diverse people.
Healthcare Experiences of Transgender and Gender Non-binary People of Color Panel (CME CREDIT AVAILABLE):
In this panel from the 2021 Advancing Excellence in Transgender Health conference, transgender and gender-diverse BIPOC panelists share both negative and positive experiences in accessing health care.
And many, many more! Browse the Learning Resources for a plethora of videos and webinars on a wide variety of topics.

 
About this Page
This page is meant to provide students, faculty, staff, and local practitioners with resources to educate themselves about the LGBTQIA+ community.
More Resources
View the library's News post on the #PulseOrlandoSyllabus for a list that compiles a huge array of media, fiction, non-fiction, podcasts, comics, and local resource centers.

Titles may not be available through the OCOM Library collection, but you can request them through Interlibrary Loan.
Podcasts
Gender Reveal
"The Gender Reveal podcast explores the vast diversity of trans experiences through interviews with a wide array of trans, nonbinary and two-spirit people. Created by journalist and educator Tuck Woodstock, the show also serves as a free educational tool for anyone seeking to learn more about gender. "
We Want the Airwaves
"Nia King's trying to figure out if her dream of making a living as an art activist is beyond reach. In this podcast, she seeks advice from other political queer artists, trans artists, and artists of color who seem to have figured out how to make art and make rent without compromising their values."
Strange Fruit Pod
"Our hosts, community activist Jaison Gardner and University of Louisville Professor Dr. Kaila Story, examine politics and pop culture from a black gay perspective."
Transwaves
"Transwaves is a podcast run by the Trans Youth Equality Foundation, where we interview trans youth, allies, providers, activists, families, and more to bring the voices of the trans child movement to a wider audience."
Homoground Podcast
"An audio podcast that features music from the queer underground and along with interviews with musicians and creators about their projects and process."

 
Books
Trans bodies, trans selves : a resource for the transgender community
Trans Bodies, Trans Selves (TBTS) will be the go-to resource for transgender populations, covering health, cultural and social questions, history, theory, legal issues, and more. It is a place for transgender and gender-questioning people, their partners and families, students, educators, counselors, and others to look for up-to-date information on transgender life.
 
Trans* ally workbook : getting pronouns right & what it teaches us about gender
"Do you want to be a good ally to the trans* community (or to a particular trans* person in your life), but find yourself struggling to use the right pronouns? It's the most basic way to demonstrate respect for trans* people, yet so many well-meaning allies struggle to get it right. Trans* Ally Workbook: Getting Pronouns Right and What it Teaches Us About Gender is an accessible, nuanced, and thorough guide that will help you transform your good intentions into respectful actions. It includes fun and meaningful exercises to retrain your brain so that you can consistently and easily call people the pronouns they want to be called. Along the way, you'll gain valuable insight into how you think about gender." -- Publisher's description.
"Archie, a snarky genderqueer artist, is tired of people not understanding gender-neutral pronouns. Tristan, a cisgender dude, is looking for an easy way to introduce gender-neutral pronouns to his increasingly diverse workplace. The longtime best friends team up in this short and fun comic guide that explains what pronouns are, why they matter, and how to use them. They also include what to do if you make a mistake, and some tips-and-tricks for those who identify outside of the binary to keep themselves safe in this binary-centric world." -- Publisher's description
Uprooted : an anthology on gender and illness
A collection of essays, stories, and poems about gender, illness and identity.


 
Gender queer : a memoir
"In 2014, Maia Kobabe, who uses e/em/eir pronouns, thought that a comic of reading statistics would be the last autobiographical comic e would ever write. At the time, it was the only thing e felt comfortable with strangers knowing about em. Now, Gender Queer is here. Maia's intensely cathartic autobiography charts eir journey of self-identity, which includes the mortification and confusion of adolescent crushes, grappling with how to come out to family and society, bonding with friends over erotic gay fanfiction, and facing the trauma and fundamental violation of pap smears. Started as a way to explain to eir family what it means to be nonbinary and asexual, Gender Queer is more than a personal story: it is a useful and touching guide on gender identity--what it means and how to think about it--for advocates, friends, and humans everywhere."--Amazon.
LGBTQ+ Studies: An Open Textbook
This textbook is designed to provide an introduction to and an overview of LGBTQ+ Studies for the introductory level college student and the curious public. It is an Open Educational Resource (OER), which means that it carries an open license, so that the vast majority of its content can be retained, reused, revised, remixed, and redistributed for free, as long as authorship is clearly attributed. It is also available in print at a nominal cost.
The American LGBTQ Rights Movement: An Introduction
The American LGBTQ Rights Movement: An Introduction is a peer-reviewed chronological survey of the LGBTQ fight for equal rights from the turn of the 20th century to the early 21st century. Illustrated with historical photographs, the book beautifully reveals the heroic people and key events that shaped the American LGBTQ rights movement. The book includes personal narratives to capture the lived experience from each era, as well as details of essential organizations, texts, and court cases that defined LGBTQ activism and advocacy.
Webinars & Videos
Indian Health Service - Trainings, Webinars, and Presentations
Access to excellent webinars, trainings, and modules on a variety of topics related to Native LGBTQIA+ communities.
The Fenway Institute's National LGBTQIA+ Health Education Center
Explore topics while gaining CME credits.
National Resource Center on LGBTQ+ Aging - Building Respect for LGBT Older Adults
A tool intended for long term care and other aging service providers as an introduction to LGBT aging.