Alumni are encouraged to continue using the OCOM Library post-graduation. In addition to continuing to check out materials from OCOM, Alumni can use any of our subscription databases while on-campus; off-use access to subscription databases is limited to current students, staff and faculty.
Alumni may request a free library card by visiting us in person. We are located in the heart of Portland's Old Town neighborhood at 75 NW Couch Street. Alumni who cannot come to our physical campus may also request a replacement card be mailed to them; this service costs $5, and can be requested online by using this form
Yes, alumni may use the Library computers. Due to the limited number of computer stations, guest access is awarded at the discretion of Library staff. OCOM students have priority for computer use, and other users may be asked to give up their seats if students need to use a computer.
Alumni may print using the library photocopier or printers; the cost is $0.10 per page and is due before leaving the library. Alumni may not add printing charges to their library accounts.
Alumni are welcome to use library subscription databases while on-campus, though remote access to these databases are reserved to current students, staff and faculty. For alumni who cannot visit the OCOM Library and take advantage of the on-site databases, we recommend using Pubmed to search for journal articles, as it is free to the public. Alumni Association Members can pair Pubmed with our Loansome Doc service, which allows you to request article citations found in Pubmed to be emailed to you.
You can find additional free online resources by using any of the databases that do not have a lock symbol.
Alumni Association Members may request articles via the Loansome Doc service. By creating a Loansome Doc account, users with a valid OCOM library card can search for articles in Pubmed and request them from the OCOM Library. This service is free to members of OCOM's Alumni Association at no charge. Click here to learn more about Loansome Doc.
Unfortunately, no. This service is reserved for current students, staff and faculty (including Teaching Assistants).
The OCOM Library does not ship books directly to alumni, only to other libraries. If you would like to check out items from OCOM Library but do not live in the Portland-metro area, you may place an interlibrary loan request with your local library, making sure to note that OCOM carries the item you are looking for. We will then ship the item out for you to pick up at your local library.
Finding and accessing research literature is more difficult as an alumni, as you no longer have remote access to all of the databases and journals that the OCOM Library subscribes to. This guide will help guide you in finding research and keeping up-to-date in the field.
The library has curated a list of freely available databases so you can find research literature and keep up to date in the field. PubMed is the largest, most comprehensive of these databases (and also includes many journals that have free full-text access).
Pair PubMed with our Loansome Doc service? You are a research boss. Loansome Doc allows you to search for and request articles directly in PubMed. The Library handles the details, and when the article is available, it is emailed directly to you. This service is reserved for OCOM Alumni Association members; to learn more about the Alumni Association, visit their website.
You can still use Primo to find books after you graduate. OCOM Alumni do not lose their checkout privileges, so you can continue to use your library account to place holds on books, dvds and audio CDs. Additionally, you can use Primo to find journal citations (and occassionally full-text). Learn how to use Primo by viewing this guide.
Your local public library is a resource you shouldn't overlook! Although OCOM will not ship books directly to you, if you request an OCOM books via your local public library's Interlibrary Loan service, we will ship the book for free. We don't ship to individuals, but we ship to institutions, so if you are far away from OCOM, just align yourself with your local library.
Additionally, you can use WorldCat to find books near you. WorldCat is a world-wide catalog that searches libraries across the globe -- if you find an item you are interested in, you can enter your zip code to see if any libraries close-bay have it available.
Rather than seeking out research, have the literature come to you. You can set up push notifications to be alerted when there is new literature published on the topic you are interested in. This means you don't have to spend time running the same search every couple of months -- just set it up once and wait for the research to show up in your inbox.